ADVERTISEMENT

***DUKE VS NORTH CAROLINA OFFICIAL GAMEDAY THREAD***

krzyzewskiville

Oct 7, 2004
Winfield, KS
There are a couple of gameday threads every year that I geek out on when I get the honor of posting them. I know, I know, it’s probably silly - but, it’s special to me. I was trying to think back how long I’ve been doing this for, and how many Duke/Carolina games I’ve posted the gameday thread for...

If my time frame is accurate, I’ve been posting the Duke gameday threads since 2008-2009. That’s 12 years, two national championships, and many, many beat downs (ok and a couple losses) of the Holes during my time.

Many of the elder statesman around here (COUGH***COUGH) @skysdad and @OldasdirtDevil I get can remember back when Roshanritter (sp?) started them, and then literally one day came up missing lol...I’ve done it since, and I want to say thank you for allowing me the privelage that this tradition is for me.

So what my wife, and anyone that isn’t a part of this crazy family we call DI would know much this site, and most (yes I said most) of the posters on here are part of a very cool community of fanatics and in the process, have become friends. So thank you - from the bottom of my heart.

The point of ALL of my rambling, is to respect how uniquely awesome this rivalry is and they we get to live it two - occasionally three - amazing times a year; and we’re back for another round.

On to today’s game! I’m not sure what to think about tonight’s game. On one hand, I see a UNC team that’s down as much as they’ve been since the 2009-2010 season, which is amazingly fun to laugh it. But I also know that this rivalry is so intense, records can be thrown out the window and on top of that, we’re in the Dean Dome so I expect a battle. Nonetheless, I really like our chances. In fact, some of the best games we’ve played all year, were games where the stakes and media coverage were higher than normal and we’ve risen to the occasion.