ADVERTISEMENT

Potential matchup with Texas next week

Guy Smiley

Cameron Crazy
Jan 5, 2012
How do y'all see this matchup? Duke has always been my first love when it comes to basketball, but I am a Texas grad and pull for them as well.

They start:

Bamba--Freshman, lottery selection at the end of this year, super long, blocks a lot of shots
Osetkowski--transfer junior power forward, wide body, shoots the three, crafty, fearless
Jones--soph, almost went pro after last season, athletic, long, shooter, quick two/three guard
Roach--junior, freak athlete, improving shooter, terrific defender, highlight dunker
Coleman--freshman, pass first traditional pg, stirs the drink, mentally tough, quick

Bench

Jericho Sims--6-11 freshman, freak athlete, future pro player
Eric Davis, jr.--junior, shooter, scorer, not overly athletic
Jase Febres--scrappy 6'5 freshman
Jacob Young--soph, shooter off the bench, scored 11 points in about 5 minutes last game, streaky

I see Duke as the clear favorite with more talent, and of course the goat. However, Shaka Smart is a good coach, and Texas is athletic with size, and with several future pro players. Texas must beat Butler first to play Duke.

What do you think about the matchup?

Reactions: christophero
I honestly don’t know a lot about Texas, other than what you just posted. I know we recruited both Bamba and Coleman, and I think we might have flirted with Eric Davis, too at one time.

I honestly don’t know a lot about Texas, other than what you just posted. I know we recruited both Bamba and Coleman, and I think we might have flirted with Eric Davis, too at one time.

Texas will be ranked this season, and I think they are definitely a tournament team. They press a lot, but I think Trevon can handle that. They rebound, and are long and athletic, but they don't shoot it as well as Trent and Allen (who does?).

Again, Duke is better, but this would be an interesting matchup, and not a gimme.