ADVERTISEMENT

Our offense felt a bit static

TheDude1

Cameron Crazy
Apr 15, 2010
So, can someone with more basketball knowledge educate me here...?

I felt like our offense, especially compared to the Zags, looked very static for most of the game... a lot of standing around, passing without creating space or openings, and then a drive.

I don’t know enough about the science or terminology of the game... was that the case? If so, why?

I am only a high school basketball coach but here is what I know. The 5 out offense is designed to drive and kick the ball with exchange screens happening on the weak side of the offense. If you are getting a defense that denies passing lanes then the offense must read that and back cut. In my opinion it is hard to run this in college as compared to the nba. Defenses in college can sag and have a big sit in the lane while in the nba you cannot do that. From what I have seen we have not done a great job with the drive and kick part of the offense

Don’t lnow how much knowledge I have but the Zags did a good job stopping us in transition where we have been outstanding this year.We also did not shoot the hall very well from the perimeter which allowed them to cog the middle with very athletic shot blockers.It took most of the game for our young players to adapt to this.This should prove to be a very good learning experience for us .

I thought we didn’t look comfortable at all throughout the game. Especially on Offense. Kinda similar to the Auburn game. Our talent alone made it a close game. If we can put it all together woooo

Last edited:
Zags overperformed in most categories and Duke underperformed in a few areas and Duke still had the ball with a chance to win at the end.
Duke plays their game if they meet again should be a victory.

Duke did stand around more the last two games and watch....and it wasn’t one or two guys. We also played two really good teams who were more equipped to guard us.

Reactions: ioliva